Panier of Plenty

Contemplating happiness

Last night I was asked if I am happy. I have been reflecting on my answer — for it depends on how we define happiness.

I am content; sitting on my terrace, the parasol bringing shade, enjoying the sound of water running through the ravine below. I have a chilled Sauvignon, accompanying the garden tomatoes and basil, drizzled with olive oil from Spain… and now, melt-in-the mouth figs (the first of the season) with goat’s cheese from the farm (where I used to work) and jambon de Serrano.

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Crisp, cooling

Crisp, cooling

Perfect on a hot day

Perfect on a hot day

I am at peace, I can say. Happy to sit and appreciate simple pleasures, in alignment with my own desires, or the inner voice that tells me that ‘there is nowhere else I would rather be’ in this moment.

I have no needs, no lack, nothing to strive for — only dreams that are in the process of coming to fruition, for I have the luxury of ‘time to listen to them’. Such is this summer’s day, with a view to the peaks of Canigou and a sense of ‘wellbeing’.

There is no one to impress, nothing to improve, just the act of sharing that which is good — how easy it is to obtain joy from food!

Footnote: A common bond in our region, acknowledgement of the fine produce of the season.

This entry was published on September 4, 2016 at 3:55 pm. It’s filed under Antipodean, Art, Automne, Autumn, Autumn produce, Catalan, Céret, Climate Change, Country Life, Country Living, Creative, Cuisine, Cultural Creative, Culture and Arts, Design, Environment, Europe, Ex Advertising Creative, Expat, Food, France, French Culture, fruit, Fruits d'automne, Garden, Healing, Health, Holiday, Home, La Vie Quotidienne, Landscape, Language, Languedoc Roussillon, Leisure, Life, Lifestyle, Living in France, marché automne Les P.O., Mediterranean, Nature, New Zealander in France, Philosophy, Photography, Pyrénées, Pyrénées-Orientales, Recipes, Rural Life, Seasons, South of France, Spain, Summer, Thoughts, Tourism, Travel, Tree-change, Vacance, wellbeing, Working in France, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Contemplating happiness

  1. mesarapugs on said:

    Such a warming commentary on appreciating the simple, good, wholesome, uncomplicated, pure essences in Life! 🙂 Feel blessed ! xx

  2. Down under on said:

    “Contemplating happiness”….. that made me stop and think. Very true .xx

Leave a Reply

